First time posting: several questions

manucho, modified 7 Years ago at 3/1/17 11:42 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 3/1/17 11:42 PM

First time posting: several questions

Dear all,

My name is Manu, and it's my first time posting here. I've been knowing the forum from some time thanks to a great friend who is active here, but I was afraid to read too much of it, because of the risk of taking things too litteraly, or to be misled by some advice I would not understand. So I took an extra year to deepen my practice and read MCBT (thank you, Daniel!).

I feel it's now the time to ask some questions, and I am really grateful in advance for any guidance you might have ! I realize this might be a long post but well, it has been maturing for some time now, so please forgive me. If you agree to advise me, please accept my deep gratitude. But please, make sure that you only answer if you know what you're saying, because I'm still largely pre-SE and I can take things very litteral...

In short, I started Vipassana with Goenka in 2013 at the age of 30, and have since done 4x10 days course, 2x 8 days Satthipatana, and 1x 10 days serving. I have more or less managed to maintain daily practice, initally for 30min, and in the last 6 months I managed to sit 1h almost every morning.

My life has overall improved drastically, except for some problems mentionned below.

Some background: I have always been a very very anxious person, formerly subject to big worries and occasional depressions. On the other side I'm also a very striven person, and considered as "brilliant" by some of my friends. The two things go together,  as a deep insecurity is the driving force to achieve things in the world, which also create huge pressure and more insecurity, etc.  Luckily, things have smoothed down since I started Vipassana. Before my first course, I was absolutely not a spiritual person. The course was a revelation.

The questions where I would need your guidance are:

1. Post-course depressions