Internal Awareness Help

Tom Arm, modified 7 Years ago at 3/24/17 10:15 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 3/24/17 10:15 PM

Internal Awareness Help

Hello Everyone,

My first post, but have been lurking for some time now.

I've been meditating every day for about 12 months now, between 30-50 minutes. Recently read the first half of TMI and think that I'm in the 5-6 stage area in that I can reach very good concentration after a few minutes of watching the breath. I'm pretty good at breathing into the whole body now too, but I have a couple of areas that I think are holding me back. They are:

(Also, as to where I am on the path, I don't think I've crossed the A&P yet). I'm probably stuck in the 3Cs. Noting no longer affects the breath directly. Also, my body moves and aligns itself as I go into concentration. 

1) Internal awareness - I'm great at external awareness and have excellent peripheral awareness. However, this internal awareness stuff is hard for me to get a handle on. Anyone have pointers on how to work on this aspect?

2) In a recent thread this comment was made by JC:
Then (as Tarin Greco once suggested) take the part of your mind that's not noticing the breath, and turn it to noticing how you're noticing the breath. Concentrate on your concentration. This sets up a kind of loop that allows you to fall into first jhana.
This particular detail I also have difficulty with, and it's pretty much the same as 1 above I think. When I try the above my head starts buzzing and I can get a headache within a few minutes of doing this. I'm going to start focusing on this each practice now and maybe once I break thru, the internal awareness will come. 

Thanks,

Tom

thumbnail
synelg, modified 7 Years ago at 3/25/17 12:25 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 3/24/17 11:08 PM

RE: Internal Awareness Help

Hi Tom.   If you're doing TMI, there are other sites that are really good to have a look at also.  

There's one called
The Mind Illuminated