David Chapman

Mark, modified 7 Years ago at 3/26/17 12:25 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 3/26/17 12:25 PM

David Chapman

A friend is interested in David Chapman but to hear what he has to say it would help if he has serious "meditation credentials" .Is there somewhere explaining more about his personal practise ? I found https://approachingaro.org/about-the-author "I have been a student of the Aro gTér lineage since 1997". It sems not such a bad idea to know if someone talking about meditation has significant experience, for example how many days/weeks/months on retreat, how many minutes/hours in a daily practise, for how many years/decades. For sure it is not an absolute measure of comptence but it is a stick in the sand. Thanks.
thumbnail
Noah D, modified 7 Years ago at 3/26/17 4:23 PM
Created 7 Years ago at 3/26/17 4:23 PM

RE: David Chapman

But... samaya.

Those Tibetans have to protect their intellectual property.  If the secrets of tantra and Dzogchen get out they could be dangerous emoticon
thumbnail
Daniel M Ingram, modified 7 Years ago at 3/27/17 6:44 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 3/27/17 6:44 AM

It is generally very hard to get the Tibetan-influenced kids to talk about their practice. They generally have vows and the like the prevent this. I know David a bit, but I know very litlte about his practice beyond the fact that, at least when I talked with him about it at a Buddhist Geeks conference some years back, he didn't believe in magick as something that actually caused effects of any significance.

When you say "interested", what do you mean in practice? What does your friend want to do with David? Is he leading a retreat or offering online teaching or something?

Daniel
thumbnail
Noah D, modified 7 Years ago at 3/27/17 7:19 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 3/27/17 7:19 AM

It is generally very hard to get the Tibetan-influenced kids to talk about their practice.