Perception of direction/position completely off

John, modified 7 Years ago at 4/20/17 5:27 AM
Created 7 Years ago at 4/20/17 5:26 AM

Perception of direction/position completely off

Hello everyone, I am a beginner-ish meditatior, have been meditating constantly for about a month now, currently following TMI instructions for stage 2.

During my sit, I had an extremely disorienting experience. While I was focusing on my breath it seemed like my perception was completely messed up. I was sitting cross legged but it felt like my breath was higher than usual, that my head was completely to the right, that my eyes were on the right of my head looking towards my nose. 

I tried to stick with the breath which I managed to do but it really felt like I was strainging my neck and trying to twist my head so I opened my eyes to find I was in a perfectly straight and relaxed position.

I then closed my eyes and went back to focusing on my breath and the same thing happened. I stuck with my breath and then I started to feel like I was turning and turning and turning, like when you turn in circles with your head on a baseball bat to get dizzy while playing children's games outside.

It felt like I was a tornado except I never got dizzy. It felt like I was a round object in the middle of the tornado and that the tornado was myself unravelling.

At one point this stopped and then it felt like I was compressed except for my nose which felt higher than my head, like my nose was on top of my scalp.

Anyway after a while my back hurt too much so I stopped.

Lately I have been having a lot of perception related bizzareness, for example yesterday it felt like I was a giant, like my hands were 5x larger than normal and my nose felt as big as my head normally does. Earlier to day while reciting some Dhikr (Islamic prayers) it felt like I was completely flat, like my whole world was 2D and I was looking at myself as if I was a drawing on a paper.