Mind Noise

thumbnail
Chris Bayes, modified 13 Years ago at 7/9/10 2:22 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 7/7/10 3:14 AM

Mind Noise

This is my first ever post and I would like to offer a warm hello to everyone who contributes and views this excellent site!

I wonder if anyone has any advice for me regarding my concentration practice?

I am a bit of a novice meditator and was hoping to develop my concentration skills first some what before moving in to more insight based practices at a later date. At times my concentration is very good, other times I find it difficult to stop my self being distracted by a lot of 'mind noise' which can grow in intensity through out the sitting. I hear random odd words, the starts of conversations or just sometimes the rhythm of a sentence with out any words. This is not always a problem but sometimes I feel like I am clinging on to the meditation object for dear life while in the middle of a tornado.
Could this be due to a lack of concentration skills or could this be a bigger problem?

Thanks for listening.
Keep up the great work.
thumbnail
Bruno Loff, modified 13 Years ago at 7/7/10 7:20 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 7/7/10 7:20 AM

RE: Mind Noise (Answer)

One of the cases for bad concentration is mental noise. Most people get this. I have actually found that insight practice helped tremendously --- you will find that the way that the mind generates the various sensations associated with a sense of self includes a lot of mental noise, very upsetting, very distracting.

As your mind starts to get cleaned up (vipassana does this, some forms of concentration such as mantra meditation also do this), you will be able to trace the "root source" of various kinds of mental noise, and eliminate it altogether. Then noise will no longer happen.

Welcome to DhO!
J Adam G, modified 13 Years ago at 7/7/10 8:30 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 7/7/10 8:30 PM

RE: Mind Noise (Answer)

Hi and welcome here.