Where I am, what was that, how to practice?

Tom Delaney, modified 13 Years ago at 7/16/10 9:10 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 7/11/10 12:51 PM

Where I am, what was that, how to practice?

Hello, all. This is my first post. I feel very lucky that I found this place where I can post such questions. I've been doing this on my own for a long time, and it's nice to be able to bounce things off others, so thanks in advance for any insight you can provide.

Brief meditation autobiography: I've been practicing in some form or other for about 16 years. I started gung-ho with zen after I finished college. I later did a 10-day Goenka retreat and some subsequent shorter retreats and practiced in that style for about 6 years or so. I stopped doing those retreats due to physical issues (back and knee) that couldn't handle the fact that, at least back then, they wouldn't let me sit in a chair. So I just sat at home for about 3-4 years, by the end of which time I was just sitting on the couch for 20 minutes doing nothing. However, I renewed my practice with a 5-day retreat at Spirit Rock last December and then recently with a 7-day retreat at Cloud Mountain in WA state last month. Now the questions: