Ed Ge's journey - a nonbeliever's exploration of meditation

Ed Ge, modified 6 Years ago at 7/22/17 12:15 PM
Created 6 Years ago at 7/22/17 11:55 AM

Ed Ge's journey - a nonbeliever's exploration of meditation

Despite getting interested about meditation a few years ago, I started practicing constantly 18 sessions ago. As I don't have access to a teacher, I hope users of this forum might drop in and give a piece of advice once in a while.

# PREAMBLE

What started my interest with meditation was getting exasperated with some episodes where late at night I was having trouble sleeping despite wanting it really badly, due to my mind being hopelessly stuck into "ruminating job problems" mode. This got me thinking who is this "me" stuck into ruminating despite the wiser prompts of the other "me". Also, "how to get this pesky mind under control?"

Building on some previous reading and an affinity with Japanese culture, I set my eyes upon Zen meditation (minimalism, less religious mumbo-jumbo, I thought). I got introduced into the practice at some local temple and went there for exactly two subsequent times since, over a span of one year or more; I didn't really felt a connection with the people there; they felt weird somehow, and not very communicative. When asking the "introductory" monk "what did zazen practice give to you?", he answered "lots of flexibility". It didn't look like I would learn much there (not at any acceptable pace anyway), so I relied more on books to inform my practice.

A few mentions:
- I'm not necessarily into Zen; it was merely my entry point. I am skeptical about their emphasis on a precise particular posture and I don't necessarily enjoy the chanting part. Ugh. Other than that, I take whatever is useful wherever I can get it; my interest it towards meditation in general, not a particular tradition.
- I'm a nonbeliever ex-believer (Christian for 18 years), an empiricist and antidogmatic.