New to the site

thumbnail
A T M, modified 13 Years ago at 7/25/10 6:11 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 7/25/10 6:07 PM

New to the site

Very happy to have found the site after being introduced to Mr. Ingram's book a year or so ago.

Without getting into my own story, let it be known that I'm new to this journey here. That said, how do I know when it is time to go from concentration to insight work? Or is there no border between the two and more of a shift from one to the other? Like I said, I am at the very beginning of my understanding of the practice. Over the years, I have had what I think have been a few moments of the Arising and Passing Away (after reading A and P in the book). Not sure if they could be called that but these experiences really made me say "Holy Shit!... there is something else going on here and now that I have been given a glimpse, I want to see and learn more." (Is that even an A and P?)

Anyhow, I know that practice is the key, but when do I know it's time to start insight work? Or will I even know when? I have caught myself doing it actually while I meditate already, and that it just from being aware of all the sensations that seem to be bouncing around, happening, popping up, running around, coming and going, and all that. Am I ahead of myself?

Well, I'm looking forward to your ideas and what-not.

Thanks all. Peace.

-Rookie
J Adam G, modified 13 Years ago at 7/26/10 9:10 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 7/26/10 9:10 PM

RE: New to the site

This is a complicated question to answer. That said, my best attempt at an answer is that you should work with both. Concentration skills help the insight process work more smoothly and quickly. Insight practice itself builds some concentration too.