Body revolts when I redirect attention

thumbnail
Paul Kinkade, modified 6 Years ago at 9/22/17 1:55 PM
Created 6 Years ago at 9/22/17 1:55 PM

Body revolts when I redirect attention

Hi all,

I have been practicing hard for 3 years trying to develop access concentration and I still can't get it.

My bodymind hates focusing on any object of meditation. It's not relaxing, it's not peaceful, it's not something I can settle into. At its worst, my whole body literally flinches at the mere thought of coming back to the object, my gut tenses, I have an urge to growl and slam my fist into the wall, and may see images of myself stabbing people or things. When I back off from practicing the reaction settles down and becomes a mild tensing in my chest, but the more I practice the more it flares up. 

Sometimes I try redirecting attention anyway and really letting myself feel the resistance and spread my attention all over it, but I can only do this for so long (maybe 30 minutes at a time, no more than 1x/day) before the reaction becomes extreme. Other times I sit there and don't redirect attention at all, just let my mind plan/fantasize/wander and simply observe it, and I can keep this up for 4+ hours at a stretch, but I start to wonder if all the thinking I'm letting happen is just a distraction from what I really need to be focusing on. Neither stategy has increased my concentration at all, though I wonder if it will just take more time for results to happen. Been doing the "try to have equanimity with the resistance" strategy for at least a year, and the "watch the mind wander" strategy with any seriousness for about a month, having dabbled with it previously.

What is causing this and what should I do about it? I would really like to be successful in my practice.

Thank you sincerely,
Paul Kinkade
thumbnail
streamsurfer, modified 6 Years ago at 9/22/17 2:39 PM
Created 6 Years ago at 9/22/17 2:39 PM

RE: Body revolts when I redirect attention

Hello,