active scanning for sensations

, modified 13 Years ago at 8/3/10 8:00 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 8/3/10 7:47 AM

active scanning for sensations

hello there...

i have another newbie type question that hopefully some people have ideas on....

im relatively new to the world of insight mediation.. im fairly clued up in terms of reading ect but just beginning to meditate properly...

During my initial attempts meditating it felt like in some way, although still full of confusions and questions, that in some way i was on track... ie i found that there was a multitude of sensations, more than i had ever realised and my attention could move around them pretty fast and note them...(it felt instictive to just do the beep beep beep kind of fast noting rather than giving a name to everything)

but in these initial weeks lacking confidence about doing it 'right' i have a couple of questions...

i have been following the breath and noticing the rising, rising, ect ect as the foundation of the practice as advised..
at times i found i kind of wanted to kind of scan my body for all the sensations i could, like direct the attention to my hands, feet, ear, ect and would find that i could kind of find sensations everywhere, then i would note them, i found i could do this pretty fast.. but to get a feeling of flow and speed it was very much a concious direction of attention

so i would like to ask if it best to stay more solidly on the breath and note other things 'as they arise' (as if they are a temporary and spontanious interuption to the focus on the breath practice, or whether it is quite normal to 'go after' sensations and kind of whizz the attention around the body, as a side addition to the breath..

when i was doing the kind of scanning it felt productive, but i also felt like i could have been doing it wrong in forcing it too much....