Differential diagnostic procedures for Ñanas?

junglist, modified 6 Years ago at 10/6/17 3:01 AM
Created 6 Years ago at 10/6/17 3:01 AM

Differential diagnostic procedures for Ñanas?

Hey, Daniel's thread "My Dream of a New Scientific Journal" has got me wondering if there aren't any things like:

Differential diagnostic procedures for: 
- Three Characteristics vs. Re-observation (maybe vs. Depression?)
- A&P vs. 
- A&P Event vs. Fruition (maybe vs. manic episodes?)
- The above vs. dropping into various jhanas.

Please bear in mind that the above comparisons are only from reading things like MCTB and the DhO forum (and some occasional doubts about what's going on in my practice), rather than enough experiential knowledge on my part since I am only a beginner, so they might be wrong. The point is that people often seem to talk about being unsure of which they're in.

Is there anything like a standard Questionnaire on the Ñanas (plus other symptoms), perhaps in the style of Myers–Briggs questionnaire:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myers–Briggs_Type_Indicator#/media/File:MyersBriggsTypes.png
i.e. a list of questions, maybe in the form of a tree diagram/flow chart. I've seen Daniel's Ñanas and Jhanas table, as well as the flowchart, but it seems some benefit and clarification could be gained from something with more guidance. I have seen peoples descriptions of the Ñanas, as well as the various phenomena they experience, but I get the impression that some people are not sure how to really approach them the descriptions when it comes to considering their own practice and something with more rigour would help.

The reason for the eventual diagnosis would then be to lead to a corresponding "list of interventions" (meditative or otherwise), obviously as opposed to having a corresponding badge or belt colour.