Is the difference between TMI stage 2 and 3 this pronounced?

thumbnail
D, modified 6 Years ago at 10/12/17 2:11 PM
Created 6 Years ago at 10/12/17 2:09 PM

Is the difference between TMI stage 2 and 3 this pronounced?

I've been meditating for roughly 2 years, most of that is on-off bullshit casual meditation for 20 or so mins to deal with intrusive thought patterns. So, I was pretty much at stage 2(or so I believe) in that timeframe.

Recently though, in the last 2 months I've felt a real need for awakening,  so I increased my session time to 45 minutes and focused on consisntently and diligently trying to reach stage 3. (I know this isn't anywhere near some people's practise, but 45 minutes was the minimum reccomended time that Culadasa states in TMI so I'm just doing that for now.)

I'm pretty much at stage 3(?) now, but my awareness and emotional control feel light years above what I had. I can easily sit with feelings of unsatifactoriness and suffering, and my attention seems to naturally jump to awareness of my body and breath in daily life. Plus intrusive thought patterns have been completely eradicated.

Is this what anyone else felt at stage 3, or am I slightly further along than I think?

Stage 3 in TMI mentions dullness as a major obstacle, but I don't typically feel drowsy or sleepy unless I'm meditating while being sleep deprived. Meditating on a normal amount of sleep doesn't seem to have much dullness occuring at all? So am I really at slightly later stage like 4/5 without knowing it?

I wouldn't like to 'overestimate' what stage I'm at in TMI, I'm a neophyte meditator and I wouldn't want to claim attainments that I don't actually have, nor would I like to think of myself as incredibly gifted because I'm most likely not. But, if I am at a later stage, it might be good to start doing what Culadasa reccomends in that stage so that I may develop my concentration further.