balancing concentration and mindfulness

Jon Bash, modified 6 Years ago at 12/2/17 6:45 PM
Created 6 Years ago at 12/1/17 2:38 PM

balancing concentration and mindfulness

Some notes that may or may not be useful before I talk about my experience today:
  • My past experience: [edit: I've been meditating off and on for about 4 years, though only in the past year and a half has it been what I would call "serious."] I've very recently come across MCTB, and am partway through reading about the Progress of Insight. I started meditation as primarily a therapeutic endeavor, as many probably have, but have slowly come to realize the much deeper benefits that can be found in it. I've used Headspace (currently in the middle of a 1-year subscription, but have realized that it is of limited benefit now that my goals have shifted), 10% Happier (better in many ways, but still misses the mark now), and Insight Timer (emptiness! ;) ) to support my practice, and have read various books. Never been on a retreat (yet).
  • My first time taking a cannabis edible a couple of years ago (I don't do this regularly), I experienced what I think may have been the Arising and Passing Away; colors were extremely vivid, I had what I experienced as insights into the nature of self and the universe, and I thought I had become enlightened. The afterglow lasted about 24 hours. I tried this a couple more times, and each time I reached a slightly lower high. I don't remember if I had any kind of dark night experience immediately afterwards. However, a couple of months ago I hit a point of very severe depression a couple of months after quitting my job, and between those points went through what I think are just the usual highs and lows of living in the world. Perhaps, though, this has been just a very long and drawn out dark night?