Doing Samatha practice while thinking you are practicing Vipassana?

thumbnail
Sat Chit, modified 6 Years ago at 12/26/17 11:20 AM
Created 6 Years ago at 12/26/17 11:20 AM

Doing Samatha practice while thinking you are practicing Vipassana?

My question is a bit broader and more personal than the subject perhaps suggests, so before I get to the questions I feel I must give you a bit of a chronology:

At the early age of 16 I had an A&P event, pretty much out of the blue. The similarities with the description in Daniel's book are striking. Quickly after I discovered Buddhism. I found the text "Buddha, the word" on sacred-texts.com. I started practicing meditation and wandered the spiritual landscape. I had to shed a lot of bullshit and distraction along the way. I regret never actually finding a good Buddhist teacher. I found plenty of different kinds of teachers who I am grateful to, but nobody could really tell me where I stand, explain me the significance of my experiences, help me with my meditation technique, etc. 

At the age of 23 I sold all my stuff and left to India. The purpose was to meditate until I got enlightened. I had a lof o zest that time and did a lot of meditating, mostly by myself in a village in Kashmir. I recognize all of the Samatha jhanas Daniel describes from that period. There were a lot of extremely blissfull experiences. However, at age 25 I recognized that I was addicted to those blisfful states. At the same time I got really disheartened by the actual lasting progress I felt I had made. Even though I reached very high states I felt I had made zero progress. I went home and my meditation practice started to weaken over the years until around age 30 it completely stopped. I felt I had to let it go, because my fascination with those states and the now seemingly unreachable goal of enlightenment became frustrating. It was just not going anywhere.