How relevant the Pali Canon?

Ben Tasmania, modified 13 Years ago at 8/10/10 5:28 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 8/10/10 5:28 AM

How relevant the Pali Canon?

Hi everyone,

I'm new here. Some of you have no doubt worked out that I do not practice Daniel Ingram's strand of insight meditation,and I am very comfortable with the tradition in which I have been practicing for many years.

I'm curious as to how important the Pali Canon is to you. If you feel it is relevant or tangential to your practice, and what parts of the canon are particularly so.
Thanks for your kind consideration.

Ben

Note to moderators: please feel free to move the thread to the relevant sub-forum if this is not the right place.
thumbnail
Nikolai , modified 13 Years ago at 8/10/10 6:33 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 8/10/10 6:27 AM

RE: How relevant the Pali Canon?

I am sure there are some golden nuggets in the Pali canon. However, as I have read a little the Dhammawheel forum, I am of the opinion those who are extremely trusting of and attached to all the scriptures are also possibly of the belief that to get stream entry and beyond is some high up in the clouds goal and thus don't put in the effort and momentum needed to get there. Those who adhere to all those traditional beliefs about awakening, probably also have big doubts that a layman can be an aharat. All very disempowering in my opinion. But each to his own. My personal opinion of course and from my own experience, just pure dogma.. I personally never read much before. I was never really interested. I found those I knew who were extremely attached to the word of the scriptures, would have certain non-negotiable mindsets which inhibited any fast progress that they could make. "There are no arhats in the world", "Arahats need to become monks or die in 7 day", "a stream enterer has to be this and that, etc etc."