From stability on the object to the first jhana

Andrew Ewing Houston, modified 13 Years ago at 8/10/10 10:04 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 8/10/10 10:04 AM

From stability on the object to the first jhana

Hi,

I'm new at this, and have been grappling with my mind for a little while now. Recently, I think I've finally reached access concentration, and can focus steadily on the breath. My question is, when entering the first jhana, does the object shift from being the breath(in my case) to being the jhana state itself?
thumbnail
Daniel M Ingram, modified 13 Years ago at 8/10/10 7:08 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 8/10/10 7:08 PM

RE: From stability on the object to the first jhana

Good question.

There are lots of ways to play this.

If you want to develop temporary blissful, concentrated states (samatha/jhana practice), then you would pick either and just stabilize on that as a seemingly continuous thing and develop the basic jhanic qualities, ignoring the complexity and true nature of all the sensations that make it up so as to avoid gaining wisdom from those experiences.

If you wanted to gain insight and wisdom, then you could also pick either the breath or the qualities of the jhana, but in this case you would notice all the little sensations that make up the objects and begin to notice their true nature, meaning in this case the Three Characteristics.

Helpful?

Daniel
thumbnail
Ian And, modified 13 Years ago at 8/11/10 2:15 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 8/11/10 2:15 AM

Andrew Ewing Houston:

I'm new at this, and have been grappling with my mind for a little while now. Recently, I think I've finally reached access concentration, and can focus steadily on the breath. My question is, when entering the first jhana, does the object shift from being the breath(in my case) to being the jhana state itself?