Question... significant happening or false alarm?

S I, modified 13 Years ago at 8/12/10 4:07 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 8/12/10 4:04 PM

Question... significant happening or false alarm?

Hey guys,

First of all a quick introduction... I read this forum every so often, got into Buddhism and meditation a couple of years back when I went on a bit of a mission to try and improve my confidence, mood and all that good stuff, read a few books, eventually found my way to meditation. So I've been practising in some way or another for those 2 years. Mostly just sitting trying to pay attention to my breath for 10-30 minutes a day, most days each week. I've not done any retreats or had formal teaching, just self taught from the net and in particular "Mindfulness In Plain English" and latterly MCTB. I found my way to Kenneth Folk's site earlier this year, and naturally it wasn't long before I stumbled across and read MCTB. Anyway I can have a tendency to ramble so I'll cut it short... basically I feel like something might or might not have happened last night.

I usually meditate in the morning before work for half an hour or so, and lately I'd been feeling like it wasn't going anywhere - I wasn't concentrating well, I just kept finding myself again lost in thoughts. This has gone on for a few months I'd say - I wasn't getting the same nice clear feeling after rising from the cushion, sometimes it felt a bit of a waste of time but I got on with it anyway.

Last night I decided to have a late evening session, around 10pm.My practice has been a bit erratic this week, certainly none that morning and the one before, so I thought I'd squeeze in a session before bed. After an initial disturbance I felt myself doing better than I'd done for a long time - I was nicely fixed on my breath, it was coming naturally, thoughts becoming more distant and less nagging, enough so that I felt that old clear, peaceful feeling that I'd gotten before from meditation especially when I first started.