"Spontaneous" head movements and more

P A HP, modified 6 Years ago at 1/30/18 2:34 PM
Created 6 Years ago at 1/30/18 2:34 PM

"Spontaneous" head movements and more

Hello everyone,

I've been meditating for 2 years, and I think I've gained access concentration to an extent that allows me to focus mostly on the insight aspect of meditation making use of the ability to stay with objects and their impermanence.

I don't know if this is very normal or it'll look like a joke, but it's true and it happened last night.

By the way, I used to have a lot of tension in my mouth and jaw, which has been slowly dissolving into a more manageable tingling vibration over the months, probably through practice. Last night I was doing my meditation session when I started experiencing the usual sensations in the mouth and I did my business of using it as an object for contemplation, trying my best to focus on impermanence. The usual tingling then became little opening and closing movements of the jaw, which I focused on one by one. This had happened before, but it used to stop maybe after I lost concentration. But this time I stayed with it and it didn't stop. Then my head started rocking gently. As if I had been hypnotized (by no voice), my head kept moving back and forth, and then went back to the max, then forward until my chin was nearly leaning on my chest. Then it went back to normal, but bent to the left, completely, then right, then back, forward, then my mouth opens completely. This sequence was completed at least two or three times. I just stayed in the present without interrupting or forcing anything. Of course I say "my" for the sake of convention, but the movements had never felt as "alien".