Beginner, jhanas, dark night and dopamine

Alex Da, modified 6 Years ago at 1/30/18 7:29 PM
Created 6 Years ago at 1/30/18 7:29 PM

Beginner, jhanas, dark night and dopamine

First of all, i really want to say i'm kind of surprised, shocked even,  from reading Daniel's book and this very forum. Because so far, all i ever heard about meditation was the pink and beautiful talk from Dalai Lama, new age articles, "we talk about meditation cos it's cool" kind of articles, Zen documentaries, etc.. Never i had the experience of reading something from people who had been in the trenches, got nasty and dirty about meditation. Real reports about real training. First time i heard about the various stages one can pass when meditating. Never occurred to me, there were specific "stages" in meditation. Wow just wow...

Anyway, I have these questions, which i apologize in advance if they sound absurd. I'm a total beginner so pardon my ignorance. I would be very grateful if you guys could enlighten (no pun) this guy that is lost in life.

Jhanas,
Can jhanas be addictive? Can they cause problems like other addictions? I ask this because i am been suffering from a dopaminergic depression for over 3 years now. From addiction. I don't want to quit one  addiction and enter another one and dig myself deeper in the hole. Don't want to become even more desensitized. To be honest, even tough most people say dark night only happens to those who meditate, from what i read about it, i think it looks shockingly to my case. I don't meditate.

Dark night,
Can the "dark night" be a stage of hangover, desensitization, a dopaminergic depression for someone who abuse these kind of blissful states (jhanas)?

Eyes,
From the documentaries i've seen about Zen, meditation should be done with open eyes, because that's how you live in daily life. But in texts about  Theravada Buddhism, i have the feeling they refer to do it with the eyes closed. So, how it should be done?

Disassociation,