Advice on finding a teacher

Beleza, modified 6 Years ago at 1/31/18 6:14 AM
Created 6 Years ago at 1/31/18 6:14 AM

Advice on finding a teacher

Hi all, 

I have decided to try to find a meditation teacher to work with me over video call, and was hoping that people on here might be able to give me recommendations if I tell you all a little about my circumstances. I have come across a few in my research, but they seem to be charging $100 per hour minimum (K Folk for example). If absolutely necessary I could afford that for a limited number of sessions but I'd like to explore all options first.

My background: I've been meditating for a few years and went on a Goenka retreat in 2014, but I feel I only really started a proper serious practice last spring when I stumbled across MCTB. I then went on another Goenka in May and crossed the A&P.  
After that I suffered in the dark night for a few months until I went to Panditarama in Yangon and did a 21 day retreat in October/November.  I feel like this got me out of the dark night into equanimity (although I start to feel dark night symptoms if my practice slips at the moment), however I did not really take to the technique as I expected to and I feel like it probably is not the right one for me going forward.

Which leads me to my current predicament: basically I am very confused about where I should be going from here, which technique would be best for me to be doing daily etc. I am currently chopping and changing between counting breaths (to improve concentration), focusing on vibrations at nostril/upper lip and sometimes doing the Mahasi noting.

I would like a teacher who has attained stream entry and can advise me on choosing a technique to stick with aimed at achieving this and help me through the process, and ideally who has experience of Mahasi noting as I have some unresolved queries regarding it.

If anyone can help me with this I'd be very grateful!
Yilun Ong, modified 6 Years ago at 1/31/18 7:41 AM