Lewis' Log

thumbnail
Lewis James, modified 6 Years ago at 2/7/18 5:57 AM
Created 6 Years ago at 2/7/18 4:49 AM

Lewis' Log

So it's been around 3 and a half years since I started practicing meditation in earnest, about 10 since I first tried it. I've had difficulty tracking where I'm at and what needs to be worked on since, in general, I'm not a very organised or goal-oriented person. Still, it'd be nice to get some feedback from the community and my day-to-day short term memory is pretty terrible lately so maybe I'll glean some useful information from keeping a more regular log of what's going on.

A bit of backstory. Sorry if this is long, I've never really told the whole thing and the order of events is a bit hazy: I'm 28, and live in Yorkshire UK. I first sat down to meditate in my first year of university, since I'd struggled with depression and anxiety after some traumatic events in my mid-teens involving a friend's suicide. Though I practiced sporadically it never became a habit until much later. And I never really knew what the results were supposed to be other than less anxiety and rumination (which I had a *lot* of).

When I left university and entered work, suffice to say I hadn't sorted out any of my mental health issues, in fact they were likely worse, and the stress of working life put me on the verge of collapse and/or suicide multiple times. I sought help from the NHS. There was a long (6 month) waiting list to speak to a psychologist and in the interim my doctor put me on SSRIs. The nurse who evaluated my case for being put on the waiting list mentioned mindfulness as an option to look into, and since I'd practiced a little before, I decided to look into it further.