Would like to place myself in all of this

Benjamin Lombardo, modified 13 Years ago at 8/16/10 7:13 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 8/16/10 7:13 PM

Would like to place myself in all of this

Hello,

I recently came back from my first retreat, a 9 day retreat at IMS. Not much was discussed about the territory of experience, so I would like to understand where my experiences land in the map as I have a tendency to inflate emoticon I am new to insight practice but have practiced kriya yoga and meditation somewhat steadily for three years.

So to get down to it:
My predominant experience on the retreat were intense bodily sensations and pain on a level much deeper than my ordinary experience. Tension in the face and throat migrated down to the chest (worst pain I had ever felt) and into the spine where it stayed for some days as I worked with the hindrances surrounding it. Later on the pain continued down the front of my body through my groin and down the inner thigh. Tension in the back would release and I would shake like a dog trying to dry itself. At times my body was pulled into different postures. By the end of the retreat (and continuing afterward) I the hindrances were still coming, but I could clearly note them without identifying.

Off of the cushion I would cycle between frustration, irritability and doubt coupled with the experience of deep relief in my body, emotional release and a gratitude for life. My energy body's completeness grew, especially in the chest, pelvis and legs. The acuity of my senses increased and I experienced partial relief from physical ailments that have been troubling me for years. (Yes I know this is a story emoticon

So my questions are as follows: