RE: Space, fluttering, and rapture Yilun Ong 3/13/18 2:01 AM
RE: Space, fluttering, and rapture Henri 3/13/18 7:46 AM
RE: Space, fluttering, and rapture Henri 3/13/18 2:14 PM
RE: Space, fluttering, and rapture Henri 3/13/18 4:53 AM
Henri, modified 6 Years ago at 3/6/18 7:09 AM
Created 6 Years ago at 3/6/18 5:17 AM

Space, fluttering, and rapture

Heya,

I'm new here. I'm completely new to the pure concentration states. For the last 12 or so years, I've been mostly doing insight practice but without the mental noting. In other words, I've been observing, and letting things pass.

I've spent the last 4-5 years in the dark night, and I'm now tasting equanimity. I have no idea if I'm on my way to stream entry, or if I'm going for 2nd path, since I've been "exploring" myself for most of my life (15-16 years). I did have a period last month where many habits of irritation, anger, suddenly dropped away, and I was smiling for a week or so.

I've been so uninterested in my internal experience that I have never paid much attention to what's happening visually or in my body. I've just broadly let it all be. But now there's interest to explore.

So on to my question: I did a short 30min meditation sit. I started by counting my breath, and then I go into noting everything I noticed from more general (feel, see, hear, thinking) to specific (pulsating, shimmering, spreading, tense, planning, grasping, confusion).

Toward the end, I visually got a sense of space. As I noted the shifting, space, awareness, it collapsed into me. I then noted the feelings in the middle and around my head. As I kept doing that, my eyes turned upward and started fluttering. I kept noting (achievement, pride, fear, shimmering, fluttering, tension (in neck)).

There was also difficulty swallowing, and a kind of rapture running from below the spin upwards.