New to noting. Questions on speed and breath vs open awareness

Bob Myrick, modified 13 Years ago at 8/18/10 10:40 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 8/18/10 10:36 PM

New to noting. Questions on speed and breath vs open awareness

I have recently shifted my practice to Mahasi Noting, and have some questions after a few initial sits.

Briefly, my background is a Goenka retreat, then home practice of around 16 months. I usually sit for 50 minutes, 1-2 times per day. At home I have done 7-8 months of Goenka-style scanning, followed by 7-8 months focused on concentration only. Having had good progress with each of this, I feel that now it is time to move into focused insight practice.

Clearly a retreat offering noting training would be ideal for me at this stage, and this will come in time. For the moment I am not able to arrange this, and am committed to pouring it on at home as much as I am able. In the near future I hope be able to arrange a two week stretch of 4-5 hours per day, a sort of DIY mini-retreat with family support.

I have read Mahasi Sayadaw's noting instruction pieces and am endeavoring to follow these as closely as I can. I have also read all the relevant posts on this here at DhO, and of course MCTB. I confess that I have tried only a week of 2/day noting sits thus far, so the obvious message is certainly more practice, much, much more practice. This of course I will do. Meanwhile, I have a couple of little startup confusions and I hoping people here can advise me, to help me press on.