Guidance on the path

Johan, modified 6 Years ago at 3/21/18 6:01 AM
Created 6 Years ago at 3/21/18 6:01 AM

Guidance on the path

Hello!

I am new to the forum and would love some guidance on my practice and help to evaluate my current position in the progress of insight.
I have read the MCTB, and am re-reading parts of it, which has lead me here.

I have been meditating for 2 years, at first mixing concentration and insight meditation without structure. The last 6 months I have applied a structured vipassana technique, meditating daily and using noting. I mainly note the motions of the breath through the abdomen but also divert attention and note other sensations when they become predominant and afterwards returning attention to the breath. I have never been on retreat and am not able to right now, the last few months I have meditated ca 1 hour daily. 

I may have crossed the A&P but am still unsure. An experience about a year ago some what matches descriptions I have read. I had some realizations about how life just flows, without free will or control or a self, which caused deep gratitude and joy that lasted for a whole day before diminishing. I have had some other experineces as well but this one stands out the most and I understand there isa vast range in term how the A&P is experienced. 

My overall mood is good and very stable, this was also the case before I started meditating, mindfulness has become a great tool for daily life and dealing with mental noise and suffering. 

My concentration is improving and during some sessions I believe I am reaching access concentration. That is when I am able to stay with noting the breath and sensations for longer stretches (estimate 3-5 min), brief thoughts arise but I am then able to note them before being sucked in and lost. Recently I have been adding mindstates to my noting and also noting "self" when the sense of self is experienced and sensations are filtered through it and not felt directly.