Overwhelming feeling of absolute peace and happiness while cooking

Iulian Doroftei, modified 6 Years ago at 4/7/18 5:50 AM
Created 6 Years ago at 4/7/18 5:21 AM

Overwhelming feeling of absolute peace and happiness while cooking

I've been meditating for about 4 years, 1 hour a day, at home, no retreats. I had occasionally had my blissful moments, mostly during sittings, but yesterday I went through a whole different state, during a random moment, while doing stuff in the kitchen. By far, I've never ever had this new, absolutely one of a kind sort of feeling, not during meditation, not while on acid or whatnot.

It wasn't joy or bliss, no inner fireworks. I was okay, in my normal state of mind, but the reality around me got suddenly perfect, heavenly. I looked around and it was like I had just uncovered a superior state of reality. All things around me - the floor, the objects, my cats, the light, everything looked different: eternal, perfect, as-it-should-be. The feeling didn't fade immediately, so I was able to bask for a few minutes in this unique type of relationship with my environment. I am usually good with wording, but this time I feel it's impossible to tell you what really happened. It was like the reality stole the show, and it wasn't about me anymore.

I realized during those moments that if I will ever get enlightened, this will be a process independent of my mind, almost natural, physical in a deep sense. Also, I mentally related my situation to this quote - "Before Enlightenment chop wood, carry water. After enlightenment chop wood, carry water" and felt that I finally understood it perfectly. To be clear: I am far from pretending that I reached some high enlightenment stage - I am now the same lazy and opaque ass I had been before this event, but man! Those moments!