SE, or is it? Frightful experiences, loss of control. Is this safe?

thumbnail
acordemos ', modified 5 Years ago at 4/25/18 8:01 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 4/25/18 6:36 AM

SE, or is it? Frightful experiences, loss of control. Is this safe?

I’m new to DhO, but have been meditating for 5 years, the first 4 years practice was very scattered, an average 2-3 hours per week. The last year, I have been doing 30 minutes yoga plus 1.5h to 2 hours meditation per day. Also have been doing noting practice every moment I remember for the past three months.
Before I started meditation, I believe I’ve been cycling through the dark night, although I can’t point to where an A&P event occurred. I had depression when I was 14, got treated and recovered, but later in my twenties, I had what I thought was relapses of the depression, but now looking back, they seem to be very much a description of the dark night. Had feelings of being deeply dissatisfied with life, miserable at times, and that even when I was doing something fun, I would think that fun would not last and could not satisfy a deep sense that something was wrong with me. I think this was insight into 2 of the 3 characteristics.

I lived many years alternating between these episodes, and with a generalised anxiety. I’ve worked a lot with content in addition to meditation, and for the past year I’ve noticed a profound change. My anxiety is gone, bouts of misery are gone, now I just feel calm, things that used to cause me stress, worry or anger still do, but very mildly and for a very short time and then I am back to this very peaceful state. I thought the calm would eventually pass, like most self help intervention I tried did, but it hasn’t gone from me. I think this may be Equanimity.