Significant insight experience (no-self?) and lasting perceptual change

rik, modified 5 Years ago at 5/2/18 9:53 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 5/2/18 9:35 PM

Significant insight experience (no-self?) and lasting perceptual change

I'd like to hopefully get some feedback on an experience I had back around the beginning of March and the state of my practice in general. 

Practice history:
First started to meditate back in 2011 for stress reduction/increase in discipline and productivity during college.  Mostly short sessions (~10 min) daily on/off until I graduated.  Sometime in 2015 I read a PDF of a Vinay Gupta talk that described the basics of concentration/insight practices and I began a more structured routine spending time doing both types.  Shortly after I read MCTB which mostly confirmed and added tons of detail to what had been outlined in Vinay's instructions.  My sessions became longer and more frequent over time until I began got a daily streak of hour+ around September or October of last year. 

There was a long period of time where my sits would start out calm, then my noting would begin to speed up and my body would jerk around a bit along with strong "energetic" sensations, which would calm down and this would repeat.  It sort of felt like I was running up against a wall that would kick me back out when everything became too intense.  Then as I extended the duration the latter portion of each sit would be calm and it seemed like I would lose focus often.

Eventually there was a point around January or February where every sit became incredibly pleasant and easy, and I felt noticeably chilled out suring daily life too.  This is when the sessions were at their longest (max still only 1.5 hr for a single sit) where I would remain after the timer went off just because of how deeply content I was feeling.

March 3rd is when the insight occured that the title of the post refers to.  Here's what I'd written down in my practice journal afterwards: