Goenka terminology and DO terminolgy

Nikolai Stephen Halay, modified 15 Years ago at 1/6/09 4:17 AM
Created 15 Years ago at 1/6/09 4:17 AM

Goenka terminology and DO terminolgy

Forum: Maps of Meditation

I have been practising in the Goenka tradition for 8 years now and I only recently came across this website and Daniel´s book (thanks to Buddhist geeks). I really am amazed at how helpful it has been to read all the posts and maps of meditation. I have felt somewhat lost in many ways due to the lack of talking about meditation experiences. When working in the Goenka centres, you shouldn´t talk about your own experiences. Sayagyi U Ba Khin is quoted as saying that one´s own meditative experiences are to subtle to discuss. It was quite frustrating not knowing what I was experiencing. Most instruction was just to ¨keep observing sensations equanimously¨. This is fine but I think I have been in Dark knight terriotry for the past 8 years without knowing what was happening. Just seeing the maps presented by Daniel is a great relief to know where I may be on the path and it has given me much enthusiasm to continue. I have one question though. Being new to the terminology used here concerning the AV experience, I was wondering if anyone with experience with the Goenka tradition knew if when he talks about a student attaining ¨ Bhanga¨ or dissolution, is this considered the AV ? Becasue whenever I experience it, some pretty hairy stuff comes up and its all dark misery craving sensations for me.
thumbnail
Vincent Horn, modified 15 Years ago at 1/6/09 4:29 AM
Created 15 Years ago at 1/6/09 4:29 AM

RE: Goenka terminology and DO terminolgy

Hi Nick,

Glad to see you on here!