Is this Equanimity?

Igor, modified 5 Years ago at 5/31/18 8:52 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 5/31/18 8:52 AM

Is this Equanimity?

Hello. I'm new at the DhO. I think I might be in Equanimity, and I'd like your help to confirm if this is true. I'd also like to get help on what to do from now on.

Last sunday I was reading aroung the Stages of Insight chapter of MCTB like I occasionally do and when I got to the Equanimity part it "locked in", so to speak. I realized I had been there many times before but it always went away because of a sense of not deserving it. This time, though, the description was so vivid that the acknowledgement arised, "This might be where I'm at".

Since then it hasn't left me, and it's been 4 days. I had clinical depression diagnosed a couple years ago in what felt much like a Dark Night. What bugs me is that I don't remember having an A&P Event, although I might have had it and just dismissed it as just another weird meditation thing. I never had a solid regular practice because it was often unpleasant and I always did it all by myself, without much of a clue of what was going on. I can remember a time when meditating was great and very pleasurable though, and that might fit the A&P stage because it was right before this whole depression thing.

What I'm experiencing right now is:
- Being mindful of the present moment is very easy, much more clear, and not unpleasant anymore.
- I can quickly notice when I get distracted and where the mind was.
- Pleasant things are better, unpleasant things are less bad.
- I can notice vibrations with just a little effort, sometimes even spontaneously.
- I understand the Three Characteristics much better.
- I understand the concept of formations to some extent (at least I feel like I do).
- Sometimes I feel separated from reality, like I'm observing reality from within a giant robot, especially when observing vibrations.