Was that equanimity?

thumbnail
Abingdon , modified 15 Years ago at 2/18/09 12:41 PM
Created 15 Years ago at 2/18/09 12:41 PM

Was that equanimity?

Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

Hello! This is my first post here but I've been lurking for a while....

I've been meditating off & on for about 3 years. My profile has details of my history with it. Anyway, I've had a few kundalini-type experiences, but I haven't really been able to find my place in the maps in MCTB. I can't really say that I've crossed the A&P, in part because I didn't experience any Dark Night characteristics afterward. Maybe I've been in DN territory so long that it's become my natural state and I don't realise it? I dunno..... I've exchanged a few emails with Daniel (about a year ago) but, whilst they helped, I'm still uncertain.

About a month ago I had an experience I've been unable to completely understand. The catalyst was the death of my wife's cat. I never really considered myself a cat person, but I had grown quite fond of it. (Please forgive all the dualistic language -- I'm still a neophyte! ;-) I've never really felt a lot of strong emotions (barring a few exceptions) -- I'm not sure if they're just not there or if I've been unconsciously pushing them down so long that I'm completely unaware of it. But I experienced quite a lot of sadness over the death of this cat.