Am I Equanimous or Just Grasping?

Simon Minelli, modified 5 Years ago at 6/7/18 10:08 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 6/7/18 10:08 AM

Am I Equanimous or Just Grasping?

Summary: I have been meditating for about 10 years, but for the majority of the time it was very casual and with long periods where I dropped the practise. In the last few years I have has some interesting experience and, particularly in the last 6 months-1 year have gotten really serious, upping my practise time and going on my first retreat last week. I believe I am in the stage of equanimity but I also find it hard to believe I have already gotten that far.

Intro to Meditation:
I began meditating about 10 years ago while in university. I was an engineering student and a teacher I had started a weekly group meditation called Infinite Potential. I began going and right from the outset, I saw big benefits, coming out of it feeling very content and focused. I would meditate and it felt as it whole world would slow down. It was a great feeling and helped me greatly in my general disposition and study. I didn’t know it but I was being taught mostly anapana with some subtle vipassana sprinkled in. I highly respected the teacher who started the group and wanting to be more like him along with other meditators I would meet along the way. They were biggest drivers of my practise. These people has a disposition that I wanted to cultivate in my life. Meditation was the consistent factor across these people, so it made sense that that’s what I wanted to cultivate in myself.

Next 5 Years:
Over the next 5 years or so I experimented on my own with various forms of meditation. Different things I found online, but nothing that stood out. Nothing more than 30 min per day and never really consistently.

First Peak Experience: