RE: Community Wiki software Mike L 2/24/09 4:42 PM
RE: Community Wiki software Mike L 3/20/09 8:06 PM
RE: Community Wiki software Daniel M. Ingram 3/21/09 4:17 AM
thumbnail
Lee G Moore, modified 15 Years ago at 2/9/09 10:41 PM
Created 15 Years ago at 2/9/09 10:41 PM

Community Wiki software

Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

Below is a topic mentioned by Daniel in the "Sharing like back in the day thread..."

7) things about the DhO, like our desire for a more sophisticated wiki for that would do something like what my book does except have the advantages of a wiki and be more collectively generated: we are working on that now: any advice on the best, most powerful, user-friendly engine to drive it?

I'd like to explore some of the requirements for a wiki / or community portal site explored a little here. As a professional web developer I have some background in utilizing open source solutions including configuring and writing custom plugins as necessary and even building dynamic sites from the ground up. If I have a clearer idea of what specific website capabilities are wanted, I can do some research and see if there is a good match out there.
thumbnail
Vincent Horn, modified 15 Years ago at 2/10/09 1:58 AM
Created 15 Years ago at 2/10/09 1:58 AM

RE: Community Wiki software

Hi Lee,

Ah, it would be great to hear your thoughts on this. When I was speaking w/ Daniel he was saying it would be nice to have, "Something with both blogging commentary for discussion of points, as well as a formal wiki a la wikipedia, but hopefully easier to edit (such as with wysiwyg editor) would be good. I am sure we could find someone to set the thing up somehow. Thing I would like: good security, very easy editor, good search capabilities, and some nice thematic formatting so it looks professional."

When you get a chance (perhaps after your retreat) we could chat about this. :-D

-Vince
thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 15 Years ago at 2/10/09 3:01 AM