Is it all-or-nothing? Any Benefits of "gentle practice"?

Mantri Sanyasi Raj, modified 5 Years ago at 6/22/18 9:31 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 6/22/18 9:31 PM

Is it all-or-nothing? Any Benefits of "gentle practice"?

Hello,

Many posts of this forum, the MCTB book and Daniel’s talks– are clear, direct, strong and often inspiring in their message - “go all out” and “get something” and "You can do it" , etc. Great motivators for serious seekers, for sure. 

But here’s my reality and  some questions that are burning me up. I would really appreciate advice from anyone who’s been in this boat!

I have been sitting (Vipassana ) for many years. I   do one retreat per year (10 days) but cannot go to longer ones (balancing family, job, etc). I have not experienced A&P. Not sure where in the path before A&P I am, but somewhere in  3-characteristics estage most likely (If nothing else, back pain, neck pain, etc. are matching the symptoms described in the MCTB book - lol  ).

Overall I think I am doing "OK" - have a fairly normal/good work/family life, relationships,  and balance. I do my annual retreats  . I am inspired by Dhamma ,  try to sit 2 hours a day and during sittings try to work as sincerely/ correctly as I understand . Years of reading, practicing, talking to teachers, fine tuning  and trying to understand the nuances through self-learning over dozens of 10 day retreats,– and I think (hope) I can say I do get the basis at least– everything in the MCTB book certainly resonated with what I do.    But relative to what I am reading there and on the forums, my meditatin life seems , at best, pretty uneventful emoticon