Establishing a Practice

Bernoulli, modified 5 Years ago at 6/28/18 5:06 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 6/28/18 5:04 PM

Establishing a Practice

Hello everyone!

Introduction:
I've recently had some experiences that have hardened my resolve to establish a consistent meditation practice. After reading several other practice logs, I feel that creating one myself could help with my motivation when things get tough.

Background:
A little about me, I'm a grad student living in Toronto who has been interested in meditation for probably about 5-6 years. Although, I have never been able to stick to daily sitting for more than a few weeks at a time. Most of my previous experience has come from intermittent weekly sits at Zen centers in the San Francisco Bay area. I always found the Zen teachings fascinating, but I felt lost with the lack of structure and thought that I would never be able to make progress short of living at a monastary.

In the past, I think my interest in meditation and buddhism was mainly due to its esoteric nature. I don't think I actually understood the value proposition beyond the nice idea of "elminating suffering". However, as I've gotten older, questions of what to do with my life, how to live a good life, how to overcome suffering that seems tied to the mundaneness of existence, etc, have become more and more pressing.

Several times, including very recently, I've had, let's say "induced" experiences, that have left me absolutely convinced that overcoming the self is the only way to make progress here. That, along with my recent introduction to "The Mind Illuminated", an extraordinary book, has led to my recommitment to this project. I'm still working my way through the book and trying to understand the stages, but I absolutely love the way it is explained in a language very understable to my technically inclined mind.

Current Practice & Goals: