Leading a Meditation Group at Work

Simon Minelli, modified 5 Years ago at 6/29/18 10:41 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 6/29/18 10:41 AM

Leading a Meditation Group at Work

I have been thinking of starting a weekly group meditation session at work and I would like to get the commuity's thoughts on any potential risks or concerns in doing so.

I have been meditating for about 10 years and I would like to start sharing what I have with other people so that they can benefit in many of that ways that I have. I was taught to meditate when I joined a group one of my teachers was running during university. It was very simple, teaching mostly focus of on the breath (anapana), with some slight variations (sometimes with some stretching first, a few minues of walking, doing a body scan before starting, etc.). I would like to do something similar as I found it a great and easy introduction that saw befinits immediately in my daily life.

However, I know that by leading a group meditation, I am taking on some form of a teacher role and with that comes a degree of responsibility to the people I will be guiding. I feel fairly confident that I am at a place where I can do this form of guidance and if people get more serious about it, I can refer them to a more skillful teacher. A bit more backgound of my path can be found here: https://www.dharmaoverground.org/discussion/-/message_boards/message/8376514 but I'm not sure it's necessary for this discussion. I have had some dark night experiences so I am fairly aware of what people may get themselves into but I think that the risks are fairly small for what I will be doing in the group sessions.

What do people think? Are there any risks I should watch out for? Anyone who thinks it's just an all around terrible idea? Any feedback is welcome.

All the best!
thumbnail
Ward Law, modified 5 Years ago at 6/29/18 12:04 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 6/29/18 12:04 PM

RE: Leading a Meditation Group at Work