Shikantanza

Glen Robert Stevens, modified 15 Years ago at 3/23/09 10:52 PM
Created 15 Years ago at 3/23/09 10:52 PM

Shikantanza

Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

Hi all,

I've been practicing Shikantaza on and off for about 6-8 months (the last 6-8 months) before more recently progressing to vipassana. I saw Shikantza as a kind of insight practice which I picked up after reading Hardcore Zen. After reading a few other books notably opening the hand of thought I took to it quite a bit.

It took me a long time to come to insight practice, Shikantza being the main doorway.

I'm about half way throught reading MTCTB. Also started to read a state of mind called beautiful by Sayadaw Pandita before that.

Needless to say that although I've only been doing mahasi style vipassana for two weeks it is beneficial from the get go to notice the three characteristics.

My question is does anyone still do Shikantanza after having mastered mahasi style practice. Shikantaza seemed to me a somewhat balance between insight and concentration practice. What benefit would it have in terms of balancing out the "harsh" aspects of vipassana. Does just sitting (shikantaza) aid in being balanced when one is a little "disconcerted" or "off balance" after glimpsing through the illusions of regular perceivement or is it more beneficial to do mettha practice instead.

Also, along in the scale of things, where would Shikantaza sit in people's opinions.

Mettha.

Putthajanna
thumbnail
Jackson Wilshire, modified 15 Years ago at 3/24/09 4:56 AM
Created 15 Years ago at 3/24/09 4:56 AM

RE: Shikantanza

Putthajanna,