Preparation for kasina retreat

Jason Massie, modified 5 Years ago at 7/5/18 10:18 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 7/5/18 10:18 PM

Preparation for kasina retreat

Going to do 20 days of kasina practice in September.  It is my first time. Is there anything I can do to make it most productive?

I have about 3-6 hours a day to practice this summer. About 10-20 days out, I am going to crank it up to about 6-8 hours a day.

I was planning on just doing kasina about 5-7 hours a week to get some muscle memory around the mantra and the rest of the logistics worked out but spending the rest of time doing insight practice. I wonder if more kasina or other concentration practices would help?

I do not have a concentration background. I am not sure if I have ever hit any jhanna's. I have worked hard at annapanna as a base for insight on retreats. It did have psychedelic effects.

My long term goal is to progress on the path of insight. My short term goal is to master this technique as much as I can by the end of the retreat.
thumbnail
Laurel Carrington, modified 5 Years ago at 7/6/18 3:13 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 7/6/18 3:13 PM

RE: Preparation for kasina retreat

Where are you in the insight path, if you don’t mind sharing? Or do you know? 
Jason Massie, modified 5 Years ago at 7/6/18 4:18 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 7/6/18 4:18 PM

I think at least stream entry but I try to keep a skeptical scenario as well.

It happened 4 years ago after my third geonka retreat. I recall review cessations, immeadiate access to a&p at all times and feeling like a regression occurred when the next path started. It was a pivotal point in life that changed everything. It has held up. The problem was that I had no idea what happened until I read Daniel's book 1.5 years later. Memory is not all that reliable and was not having any more frutitions so I acknowledged that I could be deluding myself. I figured 2nd path would confirm.