Hello!

thumbnail
Dark Night Yogi, modified 14 Years ago at 5/8/09 6:17 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 5/8/09 6:17 PM

Hello!

Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

Hi. I started practicing meditation only last July, and then more seriously this January. I am reading Daniel Ingram's book and really liking it. = ) thank u so much! A lot of my preconceptions are sort of being "Shattered'' at the moment and this happens a lot to me. I guess i have that 'grandiose' thinking 'You can't touch this' interpretation.

There are a lot of questions and confusion now. I am guessing its common
thumbnail
Vincent Horn, modified 14 Years ago at 5/8/09 6:22 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 5/8/09 6:22 PM

RE: Hello!

Hey mindful1983,

Welcome!

What are some of the preconceptions you feel have been shattered? How has that affected your approach to practice?

-Vince
thumbnail
Dark Night Yogi, modified 14 Years ago at 5/9/09 12:31 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 5/9/09 12:31 AM

i guess about the 'superman'' stigma, and also the trust in teachers, or the respect to be given to monasteries, and monks.
i was thinking about becoming a monk ! (so im kinda... u know shocked, relieved).. i dont need to do it. and perhaps retreats are ok.

hopefully it will strengthen my practice and lead it in the right direction = )
thumbnail
Jackson Wilshire, modified 14 Years ago at 5/9/09 5:48 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 5/9/09 5:48 AM

Hi Mindful,

You seem to have a strong desire to make progress in insight, which is great. I'm a householder in every sense of the word. I've never been on a meditation retreat (save for some long sessions at home while on vacation). I used to fantasize about being a monk all the time, and I think that ordination is valuable for both monastics and lay people. But you don't have to be a monk or nun to make life changing progress. This is wonderful news emoticon

Looking forward to hearing more from you.

Jackson
thumbnail
Dark Night Yogi, modified 14 Years ago at 5/9/09 6:23 AM