Help!

thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 14 Years ago at 5/12/09 5:15 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 5/12/09 5:15 AM

Help!

Author: shokolah
Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

After reading the first 20 pages of Daniel's book, I realised how unfocused my practice had become. I've been attending an insight meditation group for nearly 12 months now and feels that I have been going wrong with my practice, have I or is it restlessness? We are being told not to judge our practice but surely we should recognise when concentration is not appropriately applied in order that we can increase our presence of mind the next time round. Our teacher is a great orator and has written several compelling books. When he talks about the Dharma, it really comes alive and it is quite a moving experience. Everyone in the group is in awe of him which makes things very difficult to bounce things around. Daniel's advices are very technical and they have helped me improve my concentration quite rapidly. Before it was just a question of bringing awareness to the navel area, stay there and then gradually expand it. What also worries me is that no one apart from our teacher, has had a stream entry, some have meditated for years with him! I asked a fellow meditator if he had had such experience. He laughed at me, saying that it was a very rare occurrence. I didn't realise that this could be so funny. See below his words. Thank you for your help as I am very lost!

"Hi Fabien