Joy, love and compassion on tap

Matt, modified 5 Years ago at 7/20/18 6:18 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 7/20/18 6:18 AM

Joy, love and compassion on tap

Over the past couple of years I've developed an ability that I'm not convinced I've seen discussed much, so I'd like to throw it out there and see what people make of it.

By way of background, I've been practising for about ten years. Based on a recent reading of MCTB2 I very tentatively place myself somewhere around third path territory (Daniel's descriptions of feeling like he basically 'got it' but there was still something missing, becoming increasingly fascinated with interconnectedness etc. really ring true for how my practice has changed recently), but take that with a large pinch of salt because I'm not sure myself.

I'm also going to mention jhanas, and since that's a pretty loaded term I'll try to be specific. I've been practising with Leigh Brasington since a 10-day retreat in 2013, and I first learnt to access what he considers the jhanas through a slightly modified version of his instructions. (The modification: he suggests that, when you reach access concentration, you switch your attention to a pleasant sensation, and ride that all the way into the first jhana. That never worked for me; the concentration would fizzle and die away. I ended up staying on the breath until physical sensations of energy coursing through my body erupted uncontrollably, which was my marker for the first jhana. Beyond that point, things proceeded for me as Leigh describes, taking a deep breath to move into the second jhana and so on. Since that retreat I've learnt a number of other ways to access broadly the same states.) I haven't experimented with Pa Auk-style jhana at all, and I'd guess that I've never been higher than stage 8 on the road to shamatha described in The Mind Illuminated, if anyone's counting.