practicing at work

thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 14 Years ago at 5/19/09 8:25 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 5/19/09 8:25 PM

practicing at work

Author: okir
Forum: Practical Dharma

I work as an editor, and spend a lot of time staring at a computer at words and sentences, checking grammar, proofreading and editing, etc. So much of my life is spent at work. I wonder if anyone has any tips for how I can carry on a meditative practice while doing this kind of work? So far have just been trying to watch the action of my mind as it goes over the text, and noting when it veers off into daydreaming, etc. It's hella difficult, though, because there's a lot of thinking, and practical, solitary, work-oriented judgements that have to be made in the process of editing. I can't do a one-pointed thing...I have to look at things sort of peripherally. See my profile for my meditation background if necessary.
thumbnail
Emory Smith, modified 14 Years ago at 5/19/09 8:53 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 5/19/09 8:53 PM

RE: practicing at work

hello okir,

you might check out the discussion of "triggers" in this thread:

http://dharmaoverground.wetpaint.com/thread/2744697/Losing+steam+while+trying+to+gain+Access+Concentration

i use a similar strategy (an itunes playlist with randomly spaced "beeps") ... great for stuff like daytime dream practice ("is this a dream?") or gurdjieffian (is that a word?) self-remembering. not sure how well this would go over with in the office though. theres a meditation timer for the iphone that makes for a less intrusive interval reminder if you put the phone in your pocket on vibrate (no randomness though). if you work at home, might try just turning on a metronome and trying to hear every beat (though this is quite demanding and makes it hard to do much of anything else). also, earplugs are a huge help for me in "keeping the thread going" (even in quiet environment).

-emory
thumbnail
Vincent Horn, modified 14 Years ago at 5/20/09 2:26 AM