Does spiritual path reject humanity

Ryan Munger, modified 5 Years ago at 7/30/18 7:02 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 7/30/18 7:02 PM

Does spiritual path reject humanity

I have been meditating for three years and for the last 6 months doing TMI. I mostly practice in stage 4 but I have read most of the book and MTCB as well as some other dharma books. I think I struggle with spiritual bypassing but I feel like alot of the spiritual material out there encourages this. However it seems like alot of these spiritual traditions do not deal with what it is to be human. I say this because for the most part from what I have seen it seems like most people who make serious progress along the path end up leaving lay life and to me this just seems like a form of escapism.  I also feel like I am just looking at this problem wrong and looking for some help to see a different perspective on the issue. I appreciate anyone's response.  
thumbnail
Chris M, modified 5 Years ago at 7/30/18 7:18 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 7/30/18 7:13 PM

RE: Does spiritual path reject humanity

However it seems like alot of these spiritual traditions do not deal with what it is to be human. I say this because for the most part from what I have seen it seems like most people who make serious progress along the path end up leaving lay life and to me this just seems like a form of escapism.  I also feel like I am just looking at this problem wrong and looking for some help to see a different perspective on the issue. I appreciate anyone's response.  

FWIW, the real path leads to being far more connected to your humanity. I have a family and a serious career. After many years of practice, I feel more connected and capable of being with and relating to other human beings than I ever did before my practice took off. Practice and awakening are about being truly human, knowing what that means in all its glory and its shame. There's both, of course, but that's what we are.