Tips for bolstering Faith as a Spiritual Faculty?

Cameron Wilding, modified 14 Years ago at 6/1/09 11:25 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 6/1/09 11:25 AM

Tips for bolstering Faith as a Spiritual Faculty?

Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

Hi all,

Context:

I'm a self-diagnosed Dark Night yogi, I think I first crossed the A&P about 15 years ago. I've been practising vipassana for only 6 months, which I learned on my first ever retreat (10 days, Goenka-style) although I started anapanasati using awareness of breath at the tip of the nostrils about 12 months ago.

I also practice daily pranayama (yoga) breathing for about 45 minutes. Intuitively, I look at pranayama as another form of concentration practice. This is based purely on the observation that it leads to temporary blissful states, same as the samadhi practices of Buddhism do. Also that one of the later "limbs" of yoga (there are eight in total) is called, intriguingly, samadhi.

Six weeks ago, I took a deliberate break from anapana and vipassana, but continued practising the pranayama daily. Due to "stuff" going on at the time, I didn't trust myself to stay out of content during my sitting, and for better or worse in terms of progress, decided that a period without meditation was a sensible solution.

Three weeks ago, I started daily sitting again, doing pure concentration meditation (anapana) for about 45 minutes daily. Adding in the pranayama (if you go along with my assertion that it is a form of concentration practice) gives a total of 1.5 hours daily concentration practice.

Not a huge deal, you'd think. In three weeks, I start a 21-day Mahasi Sayadaw-style retreat at the International Buddhism Centre, Wat Doi Suthep in Chiang Mai, Thailand (http://www.fivethousandyears.org/mos/).

The reason for my post: