Morality

thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 14 Years ago at 6/3/09 8:49 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 6/3/09 8:49 PM

Morality

Author: BradyE
Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

Hello everyone. I've been kicking around the idea of practicing Buddhism for a a few years now, and recently decided to go for it.
Because it is offered for free, because it appears to be comprehensive, and because he suggested I read, it, I decided to read Daniel's book.

So, where I'm at now is, trying to incorporate morality into my daily life, and its easy to be polite and pleasant to people, but I'm finding it much harder to have a genuinely positive attitude towards them in my mind. Very often I find myself judging and ridiculing other people; picking them apart for little things: mannerisms, the way they talk, what they talk about, what they wear, etc.

When I ask myself the question, "why am I judging all these people?" The answer comes back very easily, "because I'm afraid that they are judging me, and by judging them, I can put them into an inferior position in my own mind, thus rendering invalid any judgments they may be making about me." or alternatively, "Because I know they are better than me, and I have to criticize them and make them less so I feel better about myself."

Does anyone have any advice or personal experiences they can share regarding fighting against jealousy and envy?
thumbnail
Jeff Grove, modified 14 Years ago at 6/3/09 10:04 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 6/3/09 10:04 PM

RE: Morality

This is good, the more you become aware of the present moment the more
you can catch thoughts (the voice in your head) reacting to something or someone.

Watch these thoughts see the 3 characteristics
the thoughts come and go, they are not you and the fact that you are questioning your attitude and judging is because it is unsatisfying or suffering