Splitting

Mason Aguilar, modified 13 Years ago at 9/3/10 8:01 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 9/3/10 8:01 PM

Splitting

Hi,
I'm new to the DhO and very much appreciate the members feedback from what i have skimmed. I started concentration meditation about a year and a half ago through a practice with a friend and went to a zen center later on on a school field trip. After the zen center I used breath as my primary object of concentration and practiced every day for a few hours. I felt i was going nowhere and I was a bit dogmatized to my own intellect at the time and kept chasing my own tail, not wanting to hear others advise. Anyways... Lately i've picked up again and during my practice about an half hour to an hour into it i start feeling the breath through my whole body with the whole of my mind and the sensation in the center of my forehead begins dividing, or splitting, into two pulsating sensations that traverse across my forehead and come to rest at my temples. The sensations on either side simultaneously grow stronger with each breath in and dim with the breath out. The sensation in the center of my head re-appears and pulses with the sensations at my temples and I feel a sense of unity and emptiness, like I am completely hollow. It's a very pleasant experience, just would like to know what it may be.
thumbnail
Colleayn G, modified 13 Years ago at 9/3/10 11:28 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 9/3/10 11:28 PM

RE: Splitting

"the sensation in the center of my forehead begins dividing, or splitting, into two pulsating sensations that traverse across my forehead and come to rest at my temples."