First Samatha Jhana?

M S, modified 13 Years ago at 9/6/10 2:30 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 9/6/10 2:30 AM

First Samatha Jhana?

Hello, i'm new here!

I've been meditating and studying buddhism for more than five years. I've read MCTB and it was great, a little too advanced for me in some parts so i can't really comment on that yet.

My question basically was regarding if i entered the first jhana or not. I mostly do concentration/samatha meditation, actually this time i was doing anapanasati. As i began to develop a very strong concentration with the breath to the point it almost dissapeared (well not really, but the effort of concentration sort of ceased completely and it was only mind) i've moved into a pleasant body sensation as it's usually suggested. In this session, my hands had a good feeling so i went with that. After some time the sensation started to grow steadily. Eventually i've started to get a feeling of bliss and joy that grew intensively very quickly, until it sort of exploded and took over, like i was witnessing and experiencing something that was out of control.

This experience itself was like true happiness, i related it to something i may have experienced as a child, pure joy and bliss, total freedom. I have to admit that it even got me a little aroused, not with sexual thoughts of course, but it felt like a whole body orgasm (just trying to put the experience into words). I finished my session but the feeling and mindset stayed with me for some hours (even a day or two i would say) with less intensity though.

I've tried to recreate this a couple of times (perhaps that was the problem). However, i've only got to the point of reaching the pleasant sensation focusing part, but it never grew into this full blown experience again.

Anyway, if anybody had a similar experience or any other advanced meditators can help identify this stage, that would be great, thanks!

ps : sorry for my english!
thumbnail