Jhanas and brain waves

thumbnail
Pål S, modified 13 Years ago at 9/9/10 8:25 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 9/9/10 8:25 AM

Jhanas and brain waves

I wonder if there is a correlation between the different jhana stages and the brain wave stages.

First problem: There seems to be varying interpretations of what the different brain wave stages "feels like".
Second problem: What little information I have found on jhana compared to brain waves appears to be based mostly on, well, bullshit.

I'm surprised that I can't find any scientific studies on the subject (maybe I'm not looking hard enough). Wouldn't it be nice to have scientific "proof" of the different jhanas; that the jhanas can be linked to specific brain wave frequencies. It probably isn't that straight-forward but anyway it would be interesting to see "the brain on jhana".

The main reason I ask is that while I'm new to the jhana models I'm more familiar with brain waves. I can recognize when my mind switches to an Alpha state for example, so if I knew that this correlates to say access concentration it would help a lot.
thumbnail
tarin greco, modified 13 Years ago at 9/9/10 12:12 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 9/9/10 12:12 PM

RE: Jhanas and brain waves

here is a paper written on an eeg study that was done with leigh brasington a few years ago.

here is a short description of and commentary on those results.

tarin
thumbnail
Ian And, modified 13 Years ago at 9/9/10 12:36 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 9/9/10 12:14 PM

P O V:

I'm surprised that I can't find any scientific studies on the subject (maybe I'm not looking hard enough). Wouldn't it be nice to have scientific "proof" of the different jhanas; that the jhanas can be linked to specific brain wave frequencies. It probably isn't that straight-forward but anyway it would be interesting to see "the brain on jhana".

You're right. It isn't that straightforward.

P O V: