To Begin From the Beginning

thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 14 Years ago at 7/16/09 6:32 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 7/16/09 6:32 AM

To Begin From the Beginning

Author: Hoosten
Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

Hello all,

I introduced myself at length on another thread, but suffice it to say I'm new to DhO & Vipassana practice. I've sat zazen daily for a couple of years but am interested in trying something new. I've read Daniel's book and Practical Inisght Meditation and am trying to focus on noting practice for the moment. On the advice of a couple of other posters I thought it would be a good idea to start a thread for practical questions & answers for newcomers to the Insight methodology like myself.

Forgive the indulgence, but for the sake of making my current practice point clear, I'll quote myself--

"I did a little bit of shamatha before bed last night, following the suggestion I've read elsewhere on DhO of "breathing in with the entire body, breathing out with the entire body." Almost immediately I noted pleasing & calming sensations throughout the whole body, and it was very easy and enjoyable for me to stay with the breath. While staying with the breath (with my eyes closed) I saw a coupe of flashes akin to a camera flash. I noted these, and when I shifted my attention to the field of vision they seemed to stop. They only seemed to occur while I was focused on the breath, but they were a rather surprising distraction to say the least."

This was Tuesday night, and since then I seem to be able to access these pleasant feelings at will with simple "full body breathing."

(cont'd)
thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 14 Years ago at 7/16/09 6:33 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 7/16/09 6:33 AM

RE: To Begin From the Beginning

(cont'd from above)