My Question ?

thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 14 Years ago at 9/5/09 8:04 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 9/5/09 8:04 AM

My Question ?

Author: han2sen
Forum: Dharma Overground Homepage

About my experience. Reading the description of the A & P (Arising and Passing Away), most of which is very familiar ground for me now at this time. However there is a significant difference whcih I am curious about. But first let me fill you in on the background. My path started with yoga asanas, pranayama, and meditation in 1967, I would have been about 15. This was followed by a few experiments with psychotrophic substances, until I got into TM in 1971. That lasted about 7 years until I realized I didn't have enough money to be a true follower. I relapsed into some of my previous behavior, and then embarked on a journey through charismatic or pentecostal christianity, part of which unquestionably dealt with awakening the supernatural. I graduated to mainstream and liberal christianity eventually. I began to meditate in 1999> I was very stressed and hassled at that time and went into 12 step program for the next four years. The meditation I learned through Jon Kabat Zinn method, and in 2000 joined up with Thich Nhat Hanh's Community of Mindful Living, even though all those positive emotions there were hard to deal with. I have moved twice since 2002, and currently have no sangha and my meditation practice is still only anapanasati sutta mindfulness of breathing which has lead to effortless states of complete focus on the breath. Then various phenomena have arisen, most of which is the A & P stuff. Sitting practice is like what a flower is to a bee, it is very rewarding and satisfying. I haven't allowed my self to accept this complacently however, as I have a dharma mission which is rather unstoppable. The question is, there is no experience for me at all like kundalini awakening in the body, and no Dark Night. In sitting the jhana numbers keep getting bigger, my search for info keeps g